Pleasant Is that Faerie Land

The Queen of Faerie’s kisses are cloudy as Baltic amber, cold as diamonds and sweet as cherries.

I was never a careful rider and when I fell from my horse, she caught me as easily as she might catch a child, her soft white arms coming round my body and her delighted purring laugh calling her court to see her prize. After that, I was never more in the mortal world and though the gates of Faerie will open with the wave of a willow wand, they will never part for tears or shouts or fists that beat against them until blood runs down the silver chasings.

The Queen of Faerie knew the name of every beast that runs and every bird that flies, and of course she knew mine. She called “Tam Lin” and I came to her side like a dog in heat. Because I pleased her, little mortal that I was, she drew me down to her bed and kissed my mouth and let her hands roam my body like lions.

“Tam Lin,” she whispered to me, soft as snow, “open your mouth or I’ll take it from you…”

“Tam Lin,” she said, closing her hand tight around my balls, “cry for me or I’ll make you crawl for a year…”

“Tam Lin,” she said, tapping my bruised lips, “open your eyes, or I’ll give you eyes of stone, and never more will you see the sun…”

Her court was cruel and cold and above all, inventive, and I was their whore. I was the pretty mortal pet who could feel each pain like it was something new, who could be made to sob with pleasure so intense it broke my heart and my spirit.

Her court was nothing without love and I loved each and every one of them. Their strange and beautiful faces, some with horns, some with fangs, some whose forked tongues could make me lose all pride and beg, I loved them all.

I loved her, too.

Once, Faerie went to war with Hell. The price of their defeat was the tithe, a ransom taken every seven years on All Hallows Eve.. It was meant to weaken them, to humiliate them, and above all, to make them remember.

The tithe must be willing, and after seven years in Faerie, I had forgotten how to be anything else.

Rescues come when you are least expecting it, and the rescuers are never who you think they will be. The woman waited by the road, and when the time came, she rescued me.

The Faerie court went empty handed to Hell, and whether one of their number took my place, I do not know..

Carter Hall is Janet’s own, given to her by her father. She rules it well, as gracious as any lady could be, and our serious brown-eyed daughter learns everything her mother has to teach her.

I sleep by Janet’s side and when I kiss her, her lips taste of honey and bread and never of flowers.

Our daughter passed her sixth birthday just a month ago, and the nights are growing longer. Janet speaks to me less and I grow silent, counting the nights unto All Hallows Eve.

I dream of an iron hand tangling in my hair and a voice of otherworldly coldness that commands me to bed and to rise. I dream of mouths that turn sharp and fanged in pleasure and a forked tongue licking the tears from my face in something that might be comfort.

The tithe must be willing, and so I am.

END

Notes:
-I love fairy tales, and Tam Lin was one of my favorites.
-I would love writing Tam Lin’s adventures in Faerie as a fantasy novel or an erotic novel. Anyone feel like biting?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amy
    Apr 07, 2010 @ 00:11:23

    I think you posted this awhile back on LJ if I’m not mistaken. I loved it then and I love it now.
    🙂

    Reply

    • kannanfeng
      Apr 07, 2010 @ 06:50:05

      Yes I did, and thank you so much. ^_^ I really love this one too. The only thing that surprises me is how long it took me to come up with the idea for this fic; I read Tam Lin more than ten years ago.

      Reply

  2. Madeline Elayne
    Apr 07, 2010 @ 10:59:32

    I have this strange feeling, Kannan, that I’m going to start sounding like a broken record but everything new that I read of yours delights me, so I really can’t come up with a mord more appropriate than delightful, sad coming for a writer, I know!

    Reply

    • kannanfeng
      Apr 07, 2010 @ 18:26:35

      Thank you so much for your kind words. ^_^ I have also been enjoying your writing, and I try to stop by every Monday. I like this regular fiction thing, it’s way easier than coming up with posts.

      Reply

  3. Trackback: Kannan Feng

Leave a Reply

