Novella: Lord of Misrule

Man, this week’s posts are easy.

Pretty soon, not sure when, I’m going to have a novella coming out called Lord of Misrule. It’s the continuation of the short story by the same name that appeared in the Circlet Press anthology Kneel to Me.

Lauren Burka, editor extraordinaire, sent me the cover art, and I now I get to share it with everyone else.

I have cover art!

If you twisted my arm,* the elevator pitch for Lord of Misrule probably ends up being something like, “Spoiled student at a magical university deals with a magical possession while getting plenty of beatings and sex from his servant.”

Verity Fen attends a magical university called Atia Selene, and Iskander Bahadur is his servant/secretary/minder. During the course of the story, there’s an illicit mummy dissection, some university politics, and lots and lots of bondage and disciplinary beatings.

My favorite thing about the story was honestly writing Verity. He’s a very, very easy character to write for, if only because he knows what his priorities are. It’s not exactly like taking dictation, but if I put Verity in a certain situation, I can figure out very quickly how he is going to react.**

Iskander, the other main character, is probably the closest thing to a pure sadist I’ve ever written, and he’s even being fairly responsible about it. He’s actually an immigrant from Liuba, and I’ve always thought that how he got to Atia Selene in the first place would be an interesting story. His past is Not Fun in all the ways that happen to make it fun for me.

Interestingly enough, they are perhaps the first couple I’ve ever written who I could honestly see as having a good shot at Happily Ever After. They complement each other fairly well, and I think they’re better off with each other than otherwise. This is contrary to my other characters who are much more apt to be healthy and happy the further apart they are.

When I was writing this story, I was listening to a lot of music from Jean-Baptiste Lully. It doesn’t exactly remind me of Verity or Iskander, but it does remind me of Atia Selene.

I’ll post here when it becomes available and I am also looking forward to posting some of the things that didn’t end up in the final cut.
.
.
.
Coming Soon:
My Erotica Shelf and What’s On It
Current Projects
Writing Submission
.
.
*Please Don’t!
** “Badly.”

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Cecilia Tan
    May 14, 2010 @ 20:38:42

    It’ll be out soon! The new website is up and running and so new book releases will flow again. We’ll be in touch with the new released schedule in the next 2 weeks or so. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

