This Entry Only Narrowly Missed Being Entitled “Handjobs”

My livelihood depends on the Internet, and I’m on it a great deal.

However, there comes a time in the night* when I can’t really stand being on the computer anymore, but I’m still not quite ready to stop writing. The solution, of course, is to tuck myself into bed with a notebook and a pen.

Writing longhand is not as fast as typing on the computer, but sometimes, my brain prefers the slowdown. I don’t think it makes me write better, but its more than I would be doing if I just lay in bed and wished I were still writing at the computer.

So a few years ago, I bought a couple of notebooks because they kind of reminded me of my mom’s notebooks from Vietnam, and ever since, I’ve been slowly starting to fill them with… stuff.

Flipping through these notebooks, you’ll find grocery lists, novel outlines, fiction snippets, appliance serial numbers, bad poetry, and occasionally cryptic things.**

One thing that’s coming up more and more often is stuff involving Killian and Imyrr. Some of it is sex, and some of it is that unforgivably soppy and sappy writing that seems like such a good idea when you are up too late.***

While it’s not like I’ve gotten a novel about them in longhand, I could actually see it getting there. Those two characters have been knocking around in my head for quite some time and writing about them is weirdly comforting. They are undemanding, and though I had probably better refresh my understanding about black-topped redware before I start writing them in earnest, I can see the novella they are in from here.

So to sum up, there is a limit to how much I can actually be online, longhand writing can be good for more than just signing checks, and eventually, more Imyrr and Killian stuff will likely end up on this blog.
.
.
.
Coming Soon:
Historical Lubricants
I Prefer to Call It Tentacle Lovemaking
Underappreciated Erotic Opportunities in Sweeney Todd, the Demon Barber of Fleet Street
.
.

*Usually around about 1 AM Central time.
** “The infestation made him rot, but that didn’t make him unhelpful.”
***Hm, on reflection, I should really ask Miss Rat to take a look at those bits. That might be that “emotion” thing I’ve heard so much about.

Leave a Reply

