Capes, Tights and Bondage Gear

I’m a bad geek. It took me until last week to finally watch Dr. Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog. Catchy music, uncomfortable ending, and Nathan Fillion looking a lot buffer than I remember him looking,* it was a pretty good time.

I’m not really into the superhero genre. Today, I realized that everything I like related to it is actually satirizing the genre or commenting on it, rather than being an example of the genre itself. Watchman, Soon I Will Be Invincible, Promethea, they all have a lot more to do with taking the genre apart than not.

I’ve read some Batman that I rather like, but for the most part, the closest thing I get to superhero comics is reading Hellblazer.**

Anyway, the point of this post is that I’m still irritated with myself for missing out on getting a submission in to that gay male superhero erotica anthology a while back. In light of that, have today’s tiny bit of fiction.

– – – – – – – – – – – –
I stuffed the leotard into the duffel bag and I just managed to zip up my pants when Drew woke up.

“Viperish- oh, Vish.” He blinked, rubbing his eyes hard, and I saw the pair of hickeys I had left on the inside of his wrist.

“Morning,” I said nervously, “How was…”

He leaned back in bed and grinned lazily at me. “Great, really great… Did you know that Viperish is hung like a goddamn horse?”

Choking on your own spit leaves a bad taste in your mouth.

“I…what?”

“Yup.” Drew stretched out, smirking. “Knows how to use it, too. You know, that utility belt’s got a lot more in it than laughing gas and grappling hooks …”

I caught myself staring and ran out of the room, muttering something about not wanting to hear about his cape fetish. I barely remembered to grab my duffel bag, and through my locked bedroom door, I could still hear my roommate laughing at me.

Secret identities sound great, especially when you’re in the closet about more than just the costume stuff, but you really do expect a city reporter to crack them eventually…right?
– – – – – – – – – –

My money’s on Drew knowing exactly who his roommate is.
.
.
.
Coming Soon:
Dr. Horrible/Captain Hammer Slash
Learning to Live With Insomnia and Loving It
.
.
*Weird Nathan Fillion moment: I saw a poster of him in a romantic comedy a few years ago. At first I thought there was something wrong with his face, and then I realized that I just didn’t recognize him when he was smiling.
**John Constantine’s trench coat is a lot like a cape, I guess?

Leave a Reply

