Adventures in Editing

So after a week that would not end, I’m back and I’m trying something new today.

My novella, Lord of Misrule, is coming out soon from Circlet Press, and in the final step, I need to search out typos. I wrote this novella last year, so this ought to be interesting. I seem to remember something about a magical university, a lot of sex and whole lot of angst.

So I’m currently about as comfortable as I can get, and I figured it might be fun to journal as I go along. If I were cooler, I’d be doing this with some alcohol, but I’m not, so there’s just a water bottle.

Let’s get started…

Hee, I’d forgotten what an insufferable brat Verity was. Verity attends Atia Selene, essentially as a graduate student specializing in magic, or the aetheric arts.*

Iskander, the other protagonist, and generally the saner of the two, shows up very quickly. He’s Verity’s personal assistant.

Yes, Verity, no one has ever suffered like you have.

Verity refers to Iskander as straight. I wish I could have come up with a word that sounds a little less like modern vernacular to get that across. I couldn’t, and Verity is wrong.

Iskander is actually more stoic than I remember him being. That’s not bad, just a thing.

Ah, hell, I’m getting blushy reading my own erotica. This is going to be a fun 114 pages.

I need to write the story about how Iskander got his navel pierced. Verity meant to ask, but that went right out the window, you know, with the public sex and humiliation.

“Please, please what, Verity? Please kiss you?” is like my favorite line in the entire novella.

Fun fact: Verity’s middle names originally belonged to one of my roleplaying characters.

I make the stupidest faces in the world when I am editing.

Verity, I believe the phrase you’re looking for is “ridden hard and put away wet.”

Wooh, prologue done! That means I get… to…edit the rest of the manuscript. Damnit.

Part 1 and here we have Liulfr. Liulfr is a masochist as much as Iskander is a sadist, and trust Verity to hone in on that and take advantage of it.

Whew. That’s all I can do right now, but man, there’s a lot of sex and beatings in this. It’s a good thing I like sex and beatings.

.

.

.

Coming Soon:

Kannan Feng Crawls Into Bed

I Like Each and Every One of You!

More Editing Adventures

.

.

*Though from what I know about actual graduate studies, no one has the time for this much sex.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Zee
    Aug 25, 2010 @ 10:04:06

    Yay you’re back! I know I leave your comment bars all empty and stuff but I never know what to say aside from “Read it! Full of happy now.”

    I read this post and am full of happy now.

    Also trail mix.

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Novella: Lord of Misrule « Kannan Feng

Leave a Reply

