Four Reasons to Read Lord of Misrule

It’s been a long week in the middle of a long month in the middle of the summer that will not end,* and looking back, my coherency isn’t holding up worth a damn. If I let this slide the way its been going, there’s no telling what this place is going to look like** so let’s nip this one in the bud.

Today, have a very calm, very collected and very organized entry.

My erotica fantasy novella, Lord of Misrule is going to be coming out soonish, and this is tremendously exciting. I started this blog somewhere in the middle of revising it, and looking back, I’m not sure how clear I’ve been about it.

It all started about a year ago, when I wrote a short story for Circlet Press. I dawdled about the premise for a while, then I remembered the Feast of Fools, and the position of the Lord of Misrule, who presided over the revels. I got the idea for a spoiled scholar and his extremely long-suffering servant, and it went from there.

Circlet liked it, and Cecilia Tan asked if I would be interested in expanding it for a novella. I said yes, I got to work, and somewhere in there, I wrote about 45,000 words on Verity Fen and Iskander Bahadur.

I’ll probably be talking a lot about this novella as it gets released, but for today, have four reasons why you might want to pick it up when it comes out.

There is a lot of kinky sex in this book.
It’s a piece of erotica and it has two relatively attractive men having a great deal of sex. There is a great deal of dominance and submission, corporal punishment, humiliation and bondage. There are a few other kinks in there, but I think there are all the main ones. As it turns out, there’s some breathplay in there too, but that one kind of sneaked up on me.

There’s a lot of angst in this book.
I’m a yaoi fangirl at heart, and yaoi is propelled by anal sex and angst. These characters are Not Well, and some of those hurts go very deep. I’ve talked a lot about unhappiness in this blog and how it intersects with erotica, and this story has a lot to say about that. However, bearing that in mind…

There is the alleviation of angst in this book.
The characters don’t get entirely well in this book, but they do get better. Part of the reason that they get better is because they’re together. They actually help each other rather get better instead of getting worse.

Sometimes, it’s funny.
Verity is possibly the snarkiest character I’ve ever written. Most of the characters I write are a little too close to the edge of the abyss to really find many things funny, but Verity at least starts out as a fairly successful student at his university.
.
.
.
Coming Soon:
Waiting For Inspiration and Why You Shouldn’t
My Problem With Kushiel’s Dart
Hmm, Possibly Some Orange Juice
.
.
*It sounds good, but the gonna-kill-you-heat and the mosquitoes the size of albatrosses wear the shine off real quick.
**Probably it’ll look like my personal blog, which is littered with stuff about ninjas, ballerinas, insomnia and musings about how long I’ve been awake.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Novella: Lord of Misrule « Kannan Feng

Leave a Reply

