NaNoWriNO!

I’m still in the midst of a Write ALL THE THINGS frenzy* so this post is going to be a little short cause I want to run off and write a scene about dancing and snark.

So we’re coming on to November and every year, I have to think about how I feel about NaNoWriMo. For anyone who doesn’t feel like clicking the link, its 50,000 words in one month. That’s a long novella, not a novel, but the point is that you get a lot of writing done in a very short amount of time. If it’s one thing I’ve figured out, it’s not what gets you to put words on the page, it’s that you actually do it, so I cautiously approve of this thing.

However…

NaNoWriMo makes me crazy.

There’s no getting around it, it does. I tried it one year and failed, and then I did it the second year and succeeded, if by “succeeded” you mean wrote an unsellable novella and had to sit down and write 9000 words in one sitting. I was pretty sure that gibbering was involved before, during and after as well.**

On the other hand, I’m not working at an office job that makes me steal office supplies to stay sane, and I’m not even doing phone sex anymore. I was doing both when I actually finished NaNoWriMo, and frankly, I’m really glad that the tech support, the phone sex and the ghost story didn’t intersect in a way that get would get me fired.

If I were going to do NaNoWriMo, it might involve using it to bulk up the word count on the Urban Fantasy Monster*** or I might use it to spit out that erotica novel about the prison brothel. It’s just kind of tempting to know that at the end of it, Squid willing and the creek don’t rise, I’ll have a chunk of something. Hell, all things being equal, I might even have a chunk of something publishable.

Is anyone else out there doing NaNoWriMo?
.
.
.
Coming Soon
Writing Injuries I Have Sustained
The Value of a Media Studies Degree to a Writer
Have a Story!
.
.
*Seriously, it was like novels bloomed in my head overnight and knocked out a bunch of stuff that was already there. I figure I really didn’t need the periodic table of the elements or vwls.
**Fortunately, gibbering is no necessarily a detriment when you are working phone tech support.
***Hmm, I give my novels the same kind of pseudonyms that I give my friends.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Madeline Elayne
    Oct 21, 2010 @ 16:52:49

    I’ve been seriously considering it. If, you know, I had some kind of peer pressure to bully me through it. (wink, wink, nudge, nudge)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

