Visual Media and the Writer

Still considdering NaNoWriMo, but with bridesmaiding duties, and a move coming up, the thought of doing it made my brain simultaneously puke and try to eat itself.*

Lots of things make me want to write, as I think I have mentioned before. Mostly, writing is caused by reading, but not always, so I thought I’d post a few of the pieces of visual media that have made me think, oh, I want to do something like that!

Interestingly enough, I think that all of the links below are actually safe for work.

Hipsters:  He Doesn’t Need an American Wife
This is from the Russian movie Stilyagi, or Hipsters, when the male character in the song decides to give up his bohemian lifestyle and go to study in the United States. The song translates to “He Doesn’t Need an American Wife,” and some of the most eye-catching moments for me include the hairdresser pulling his head out of the sink to make him look in the mirror and the perfectly red mouths of the singers at the beginning.

The Disappearance of Hatsune Miku
Vocaloid is a singing synthesizer and the different voices are represented by characters. The clip above features one of these characters in hologram form giving a live concert. First, we live in a Gibson novel, and second, it’s fascinating to me to see the investment and emotion given to something that can’t return it or even respond to it. There’s an imbalance there, though I don’t know on which side, and the implications of what happens if you take this further, exaggerate it more, make me really curious.

Where the Wild Roses Grow
This PJ Harvey and Nick Cave doing Henry Lee. The story’s simple, featuring a man who wants to leave a woman and woman who will absolutely not let him do so. The song is lovely, but what stands out to me is the performance by PJ Harvey, which pictures a woman who is creepy, doesn’t care that she’s creepy and completely obsessed. The touching between Nick Cave and PJ Harvey is lingering, and given the fact that Cave’s character is dead about halfway through the song, more than a little skin-crawling. I Like It.**

Gintama AMV
This video is from the anime Gintama, which you hear me and Miss Rat mention from time to time, and I’m going to be totally honest with you when I say that its a trap. It’s a beautifully put together anime music video using clips from the series, and it seems to be telling you about a story of war, loyalty, friends who become enemies, and the need to change in order to survive. Gintama is all about those things, but remember that there is also a faux-tentacle rape scene involving a snot monster. This video made me want to write a story about that other anime they’re talking about, the one where the hero doesn’t have a heroic speech about strawberry milk bringing on incontinence.***
.
.
.
Coming Soon
Ornamental Eroticism
Phone Sex and Fetishes I Did Not See Coming
Halloween!
.
.
*And word-pictures like that are why I’m not a romance writer.
**Interestingly enough, I don’t feel the same way about the Kylie Minogue and Nick Cave duet on Where the Wild Roses Grow. I don’t know if its because its a man killing a woman or because I don’t recall those characters touching or seeming as obsessed with each other or what. I worry it’s because depictions of the violence of women against men is so common that it doesn’t trigger as strong a reaction in me.
***I have watched almost 200 episodes of this thing and I dragged the Long-Suffering Girlfriend and Miss Rat in with me. I don’t know, either.

Leave a Reply

